C-255 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C-255 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • SACA does not publicly disclose a pass rate for Hydraulic Systems 1 (C-255), so any specific percentage you see online is unsourced.
  • C-255 is offered at Silver (online written knowledge test) and Gold (Silver plus observed hands-on assessment) levels.
  • The issuer description centers on connecting, adjusting, operating and analyzing circuits, so hands-on fluency matters as much as memorization.
  • CPI lists local C-255 Silver testing at USD $139 per test; Indiana's sheet lists $500 with membership. Scopes differ.

What the Data Actually Shows About the C-255 Pass Rate

If you searched for a C-255 pass rate, you were probably hoping for a clean percentage. Here is the honest answer for Hydraulic Systems 1 (C-255), issued by the Smart Automation Certification Alliance (SACA): the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. No retrievable issuer page, state workforce sheet, college catalog or training-center page we reviewed publishes first-attempt or overall pass percentages for this credential.

That matters because pass-rate articles for niche industrial credentials are often padded with invented figures. Any "C-255 pass rate: 78%" style claim would have to come from somewhere, and for this exam, there is no public source to cite. This article instead tells you what the available evidence does support, what it does not, and how to turn that into a smarter preparation plan. For the full question of difficulty, see our companion piece, How Hard Is the C-255 Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Identity check: This article covers only SACA's Hydraulic Systems 1 (C-255). Other credentials elsewhere in the world share the "C-255" label, and their pass rates, fees and domains have no bearing on this exam. If you are unsure which credential you are preparing for, read What Is C-255? first.

Why Hydraulic Systems 1 Has No Published Pass Rate

Several structural features of how SACA delivers C-255 explain the absence of a public figure.

  • Decentralized delivery. Testing runs through SACA Authorized Testing Centers and certified proctors at member organizations (colleges, training centers and employers), not a single national testing chain. Results flow through the SACA portal rather than a public statistics page.
  • Two assessment levels. Silver and Gold are different events. A single "pass rate" would blur a written knowledge test with a written-plus-practical sequence.
  • Member-based access. Candidates must be employees or students of a SACA member, so the test-taker population is a managed group (often students in a course) rather than an open public pool.
  • No disclosed psychometric details. The numerical passing score, scored versus unscored item split and current exam revision are not publicly confirmed.

Without a published denominator or a published cut score, even a well-meaning third-party estimate would be guesswork. If you want to understand what "passing" is likely to look like in practice, our article on the C-255 passing score walks through what is and is not verified.

How C-255 Is Tested: Silver, Gold and Who Proctors It

SACA's general assessment framework, as described on its certifications page and corroborated by a fully opened training-center process page, uses two levels:

LevelWhat It InvolvesWhat Is Verified
SilverOnline written knowledge testingDelivered through SACA Authorized Testing Centers with certified proctors and the SACA portal
GoldSilver plus a successful observed hands-on assessment on approved equipmentPractical task count and separate timers for C-255 are not verified

Several details that candidates often ask about are not confirmed for the exact C-255 exam: item format, number of questions, scored/unscored split, the numerical passing score, open-book or calculator permissions, and whether any adaptive logic is used. Treat any source that states these as fact without citing SACA with skepticism. For scheduling mechanics, see C-255 Exam Dates 2026.

A 2021 SACA process document and a training-center reproduction describe a 24-hour wait after a failed written exam, but a current, universal C-255 retake rule was not verified. Always confirm the current policy with your testing center before your attempt.

Reading the Real Difficulty Signals

When a pass rate is hidden, the best substitute is the credential's own scope. SACA's description of C-255 emphasizes doing: connecting, adjusting, operating and analyzing hydraulic circuits. The components named in the issuer description are a useful reality check on how wide the knowledge base is:

  • Quick-connect fittings and tee/cross fittings
  • Fixed-displacement pumps and filters
  • Pilot-operated and direct-operated relief valves
  • Gauges and flow meters
  • Directional-control, flow-control and check valves
  • Pressure-reducing and sequence valves
  • Accumulators and pressure-compensated flow-control valves
  • Cylinders and motors

The issuer's additional skills list adds hydraulic safety, circuit symbols and diagrams, force-pressure-area calculations, absolute/gauge pressure conversion, power-unit startup and shutdown, Pascal's law, accumulator charging, reservoir refilling and delta-P measurement.

That is a broad, applied scope. Candidates who have only read about hydraulics tend to struggle with schematic interpretation and sequencing questions; candidates who have physically plumbed a trainer tend to struggle less with those but may be rusty on the math. Either way, the credential rewards balanced preparation.

Read the sources carefully: The nine domains used in this article are reproduced SACA competency standards (255.1 through 255.9) from Ohio's transfer assurance guide, corroborated by a college course credential document. They are unweighted preparation objectives, not a confirmed current exam blueprint. No percentage weights are established, so do not assume any domain is "worth more" than another.

Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points

Because no item-level performance data is public, the following is analysis of the domain content, not a statistic. These are the areas where the nature of the material tends to create trouble. For a full walkthrough of each content area, read C-255 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 9 Content Areas.

Domain 4: Interpret hydraulic schematics

Schematic reading is the skill that ties every other domain together. Expect to identify components by symbol and trace flow paths.

  • Know the symbols for pumps, relief valves, directional valves, check valves, accumulators, cylinders and motors
  • Practice tracing flow in each valve position
  • Distinguish pilot-operated from direct-operated relief valve symbols

Domain 8: Monitor performance of hydraulic system pressure and force

This is the quantitative domain. It draws on force-pressure-area relationships, Pascal's law, absolute versus gauge pressure and delta-P measurement.

  • Be fluent in force = pressure × area and its rearrangements
  • Convert between gauge and absolute pressure without hesitation
  • Understand what a pressure drop across a component tells you

Domain 7: Check and charge accumulator pressure

Accumulators combine safety and procedure. Candidates need to know why pre-charge matters and the order of operations for charging.

  • Understand pre-charge versus system pressure
  • Know the safety implications of stored energy
  • Be able to describe the charging procedure step by step

Domain 6: Connect and adjust flow control and needle valves

Adjustment questions test cause and effect: what changes when you throttle a valve, and how does a pressure-compensated flow-control valve differ from a simple needle valve?

  • Relate flow adjustment to actuator speed
  • Understand why pressure compensation holds flow steady under varying load

Domains 1, 2, 3, 5 and 9 (safety, startup and shutdown, monitoring, connecting and operating basic components, and basic servicing) are procedural. They are rarely conceptually deep, but they punish candidates who skip steps or reverse a sequence. Safety in particular should be treated as a foundation for every hands-on task, especially on a Gold-level practical.

A Domain-by-Domain Preparation Sequence

If you want a plan tied to the structure of the exam rather than generic advice, sequence your study so that earlier weeks build vocabulary and safety habits that later weeks depend on. The timeline below is a suggested ordering, not an official one. For a fuller plan, see the C-255 Study Guide 2026, and keep the C-255 Cheat Sheet nearby for last-minute review.

Week 1

Safety, Startup and Shutdown (Domains 1, 2)

  • Learn hydraulic safety procedures first, including stored energy and pressurized fluid hazards
  • Memorize the logic of power-unit startup and shutdown, including reservoir level checks
Week 2

Schematics and Components (Domains 4, 5)

  • Drill circuit symbols until recognition is instant
  • Map each named component to its function: pumps, relief valves, directional valves, cylinders, motors
Week 3

Flow Control and Accumulators (Domains 6, 7)

  • Study needle valves versus pressure-compensated flow-control valves
  • Walk through accumulator pre-charge and charging steps
Week 4

Pressure, Force, Monitoring and Servicing (Domains 3, 8, 9)

  • Work force-pressure-area and gauge/absolute conversion problems daily
  • Review gauges, flow meters, delta-P, filter service and reservoir refilling
  • Finish with timed practice questions on the main practice test site

Why this order? Safety and startup knowledge underpin every hands-on step; schematic fluency is required to make sense of flow control and accumulator circuits; and the math-heavy performance domain benefits from the component understanding you built earlier. If you already work around hydraulic equipment, compress the early weeks and spend extra time on calculations.

Key Takeaway

Because no domain weights are published, do not skip the "easy" procedural domains. Each of the nine SACA-aligned objectives is a legitimate preparation target, and a Gold attempt will test several of them through hands-on performance rather than recall.

Cost and Eligibility Context That Affects Your Odds

Money and access shape outcomes more than most candidates realize, because they determine how many practice attempts you can afford and whether you test through a course with lab time. The facts below are scope-limited; confirm current pricing locally. Our C-255 Certification Cost 2026 breakdown goes deeper.

SourceFigureWhat It Covers
CPI (testing provider)USD $139 per testExact-code C-255 Silver testing, local; not a national or Gold tariff
Indiana DWD exact-code sheet$500 with membership; $395 membership renewalUndated state sheet; also lists 80-85 related instructional hours and no credential expiration
Waubonsee (Illinois) course$500Course tuition for a C-255 class, not an exam-only fee
Lehigh Carbon Community College$1,400 per personFive-session mobile training offer that begins in 2027; not an exam-only fee

These figures do not add up to a universal retail price. The CPI number is a local Silver testing fee, the Indiana figures reflect that state's sheet, and the college numbers are course or training charges. No individual member versus non-member price split is verified, and SACA's membership pages note that eligible students and employees may receive certifications through membership, with provider course and testing fees differing.

On eligibility, SACA requires candidates to be employees or students of a SACA member. Preparation can come from any aligned text, course or other means, and no particular course is compulsory. Some providers, such as Waubonsee, recommend preparatory classes (C-101/IMT910), but that is a provider recommendation, not a national prerequisite. No C-255-specific degree, work-experience hours, references or prior-certification threshold was established. Details are collected in C-255 Requirements 2026.

Retakes, Renewal and Transfer Credit: What Is and Is Not Verified

Three adjacent topics frequently get tangled with pass-rate questions, so it is worth separating them.

Retakes

A 2021 SACA process document describes a 24-hour wait after a failed written exam. Whether that exact rule applies today to C-255, and whether fees apply to a retest, was not verified. Ask your testing center before you sit.

Renewal and expiration

My Next Move reports no continuing education, re-examination or professional development requirement for renewal, and Indiana's sheet lists no credential expiration. However, SACA's current expiry and renewal policy remains unverified, so do not assume the credential is guaranteed for life, and do not assume a personal renewal fee exists.

Transfer credit in Ohio

Ohio's Industry-Recognized Credential Transfer Assurance Guide (Hydraulics and Pneumatics, updated August 3, 2026) is where the nine competency standards in this article are reproduced. Its transfer pathway requires an accepted hydraulic credential such as C-255 Gold plus an accepted pneumatic credential, along with a participating institution's equivalent course. C-255 alone does not guarantee credit, and the guide's three-year currency window governs access to transfer credit, not certification expiry.

Practical implication: If college credit is part of your goal, aim for Gold rather than Silver, and confirm with your institution which pneumatic credential and course it requires. Whether the credential pays off in wages or hiring is a separate question covered in Is the C-255 Certification Worth It?, C-255 Salary Guide 2026 and C-255 Jobs.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the pass rate for the C-255 Hydraulic Systems 1 exam?

It is not publicly disclosed. SACA does not publish pass-rate statistics for C-255, and no state sheet, college page or training-center page reviewed provides one. Treat any specific percentage as unsourced and focus on mastering the nine domains instead.

Is C-255 hard to pass?

The scope is broad and applied: schematics, pressure and force calculations, accumulator charging, flow control adjustment, safety and servicing. Candidates with hands-on hydraulic experience typically find the procedural domains easier, while the math and schematic domains reward deliberate practice. See our difficulty guide for more.

What is the difference between Silver and Gold for C-255?

Silver is an online written knowledge test delivered through a SACA Authorized Testing Center with a certified proctor. Gold is Silver plus a successful observed hands-on assessment on approved equipment. Practical task counts and separate timers for C-255 are not verified.

How much does the C-255 exam cost?

There is no verified universal price. CPI lists local Silver testing at USD $139 per test, Indiana's sheet lists $500 with membership, and colleges list course tuition separately. Fee scope varies by provider and membership, so confirm with your testing center. Full details are in the cost breakdown.

Can I retake the C-255 exam if I fail?

A 2021 SACA process document describes a 24-hour wait after a failed written exam, but a current universal C-255 retake rule and any retest fee were not verified. Ask your proctor or testing center for the current policy before scheduling.

The bottom line: with no published pass rate, your best strategy is to treat all nine SACA-aligned domains as testable, build hands-on familiarity where you can, and verify fees, format and retake rules with your testing center. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, run through the questions on the C-255 practice test site and review your weakest domains again.

Ready to pass your C-255 exam?

Put this into practice with free C-255 questions across every exam domain.